Mind your 10ps and Qs – The Royal Mint releases A to Z of Britain coin collection

1 March 2018

Shoppers should check their change as The Royal Mint reveals a brand new range of 10p coins.

The collection features 26 10ps for each letter of the alphabet with designs symbolising aspects of British life. For example, E pictures an English breakfast, while L features the Loch Ness Monster.

The Royal Mint says it asked the general public for their opinions on the most important symbols of British life. Iconic landmarks such as the Angel of the North and Stonehenge made the cut ahead of the white cliffs of Dover and the London skyline.

Meanwhile staples such as fish and chips and tea are included too, having beaten Sunday roasts and gin and tonic.

Also included are some of Britain’s greatest technological innovations, such as Greenwich Mean Time and the World Wide Web.

Here’s a look at the new designs - see the key below for the full list of what’s on the coins:

Mind your 10ps and Qs – The Royal Mint releases A to Z of Britain coin collection

Anne Jessopp, chief executive at The Royal Mint says: “These designs were selected because we feel they represent a diverse mix of elements that make up the country we all love. There is a lot to be proud of in the UK – whether it’s at the highest level, our Houses of Parliament representing democracy and freedom of speech, technological advancements such as Tim Berners-Lee’s World Wide Web, or just a good cup of tea, it’s all here in the designs.”

Enthusiasts can also download a free app to keep track of the coins they come across from the collection. To get the app, search “Coin Hunt” on the App Store or Google Play Store. In the app, users can see a heat map of where coins are appearing in the country, record their finds, and learn more about the collection.

Dr Kevin Clancy, director of The Royal Mint Museum, adds: “This is a departure from the standard way in which The Royal Mint has celebrated what is great about Britain in the past. We have marked great events, celebrated engineers, politicians and of course royalty. This series really drills down into the heartland of what makes Britain British. It’s the granularity of British life celebrated on the coinage.”

The full range is as follows:

  • A – Angel of the North
  • B – Bond… James Bond
  • C – Cricket
  • D – Double Decker Bus
  • E – English Breakfast
  • F – Fish & Chips
  • G – Greenwich Mean Time
  • H – Houses of Parliament
  • I – Ice-Cream Cone
  • J – Jubilee
  • K – King Arthur
  • L – Loch Ness Monster
  • M – Mackintosh
  • N – National Health Service
  • O – Oak Tree
  • P – Post Box
  • Q – Queuing
  • R – Robin
  • S – Stonehenge
  • T – Teapot
  • U – Union Flag
  • V – Village
  • W – World Wide Web
  • X – X Marks the Spot
  • Y – Yeoman
  • Z – Zebra Crossing


In reply to by anonymous_stub (not verified)

As usual it would appear that Britain only means England as there is only one item specific to Scotland while there is nothing specific to represent Wales or Ireland. For instance "C" could be Caernarfon Castle," W" could be Welsh Assembly and "B" could be Belfast. Also as the Welsh are the original British; letters from the Welsh alphabet should be included such as "CH", "FF," "LL", "PH", "RH" and "TH"

In reply to by anonymous_stub (not verified)

How and where can one obtain a full set of the new coins at face value?

In reply to by anonymous_stub (not verified)

A set of 26 10p pieces cost £52 post free direct from The Royal Mint. You can also purchase them from the Post Office but they charge £104!

In reply to by anonymous_stub (not verified)


Add new comment