O2 to launch free mobile roaming in Europe – on same day as EU ban

10 May 2017

O2 has become the latest mobile provider to announce the imminent launch of free mobile roaming in Europe.

From 15 June, pay monthly O2 mobile customers can use their minutes, texts, and data allowance for free in O2’s ‘Europe Zone’, which covers 47 territories.

Pay-As-You-Go (PAYG) mobile customers can do the same in 42 European territories: unlike pay monthly customers they won’t get free roaming in Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Monaco, and Switzerland.  


O2 users don’t need to do anything to activate free roaming as it will come into force automatically.  

The change comes into force on the same day as an EU ban on mobile roaming charges, which means you’ll be able to use your phone without incurring roaming charges in all 28 EU countries anyway, with Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway following “shortly after”.

The move also follows EE, which is introducing free mobile roaming in 47 European countries from 15 June, and Vodafone, which has introduced new tariffs that enable free roaming in 40 overseas destinations.

Three Mobile already operates a scheme called ‘Feel at Home’ where, depending on your mobile tariff, you can roam for free in 42 destinations worldwide. Carphone Warehouse’s iD network also lets those on its ‘TakeAway’ plan roam for free in 29 countries. 

Add new comment