First-time investor

Investment Guide: Private Equity Sector

Wednesday, 29 July 2015 | Article

Both the fund universe and investment trusts have specialist areas, where investors can access niche or overlooked areas that might be ripe for growth.

Should you invest in property?

Wednesday, 29 July 2015 | Article

As is so often the case, the truth lies somewhere in between.

What's the best way to invest £18,000 for my child?

Tuesday, 28 July 2015 | Question and Answer

If he will need the money in a relatively short time, certainly five years or less, then it makes sense to keep it in cash.

Investment Guide: closed- and open-ended investments

Wednesday, 08 July 2015 | Article

But the question on the lips of most investors - certainly beginners - is whether all of these features translate into decent performance.

Take control of your investing

Tuesday, 23 June 2015 | Article

As time rolls gently by, more of us are taking responsibility for managing our pensions and investments. Hallelujah, I say.

Aviva launches investment platform

Tuesday, 16 June 2015 | News

Insurance company Aviva has launched an investment platform for private investors.

What's the best way to give my son £5,000 to invest?

Thursday, 11 June 2015 | Question and Answer

The first question to ask is whether a stocks and shares Isa is the right choice for your son.

Investment guide: structured products

Wednesday, 03 June 2015 | Article

It's not difficult to understand why some rate-starved savers are attracted to structured products.

Should you invest in the UK?

Tuesday, 02 June 2015 | Article

After slumping during the financial crisis, the blue-chip FTSE 100 index of leading companies had soared to a record high of 7103.98 points in April 2015.

Premium bond limit rises to £50,000 on 1 June 2015

Friday, 29 May 2015 | News

The amount you can invest in premium bonds rises from £40,000 to £50,000 on Monday 1 June 2015.