Renting

Rent a room threshold to rise - 2016/17

Wednesday, 08 July 2015 | News

The Chancellor has announced that the amount that householders can earn by renting out a room will rise to £7,500 a year tax-free.

UK rents are highest in Europe

Wednesday, 24 June 2015 | News

UK rents are the highest in Europe at £730 (€902) a month, research from the National Housing Federation (NHF) has revealed.

Rents up to a record high of £774 a month

Friday, 22 May 2015 | News

Private rents across England and Wales have reached a record high average of £774 a month.

Frustrated renters are giving up on hope of buying

Tuesday, 07 April 2015 | News

Young families and workers say they are giving up on the idea of ever owning their own home despite 2014 seeing the highest level of first-time buyers in seven years.

My depressing flat search

Monday, 26 January 2015 | Blog | By Rob Goodman

“It’s only £1,000 a month, in a great area, mate. A real bargain.”

Part-time landlords pocket £678 in rent a month

Thursday, 27 November 2014 | News

One in 20 Brits are renting out a property to top up their income, earning an extra £678 a month on average.

34% of renters hit by repair bills

Friday, 14 November 2014 | News

More than a third of renters have had to shell out £63 on average to have something fixed in their property.

Rents reach record high of £758 a month

Friday, 19 September 2014 | News

The amount of rent paid by tenants in England and Wales reached an all-time high of £761 a month in August, with landlords expected to make a return of 17.2% in the year ahead.

94% of renters break the rules

Thursday, 18 September 2014 | News

A whopping 94% of renters admit they may be in breach of their tenancy agreement, according to new research.

Most parents charge grown-up children rent

Thursday, 04 September 2014 | News

Some 55% of parents charge their grown-up children rent, according to a recent poll on Moneywise.co.uk.