Letting

Can my son get tax relief if he rents out his flat?

Thursday, 27 June 2013 | Question and Answer

I believe he will get full tax relief as long as the property is not let to family members.

Letting agent fees should be scrapped, charity says

Wednesday, 12 June 2013 | News

Letting agent fees are "out of control" and should be scrapped, a housing charity has warned.

Should you get into the buy-to-let business?

Wednesday, 29 May 2013 | Article

Buy-to-let (BTL) seems like a good money-spinner for a growing number of income-seeking investors battling with low interest rates and stockmarket volatility.

Buy-to-let lending rises to £4.2 billion

Thursday, 09 May 2013 | News

The buy-to-let sector continues to grow, with mortgages accounting for 13% of total mortgage lending in the UK.

Top buy-to-let locations revealed

Tuesday, 23 April 2013 | News

Southampton takes the crown for the best location for buy-to-let, offering savvy landlords an impressive 7.82% rental yield.

Unexpected charges top letting agent complaint list

Friday, 15 February 2013 | News

'Surprise' or 'drip-fed' charges made by letting agents are commonplace, according to a report by the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) published today.

Should you invest in buy-to-let?

Thursday, 18 April 2013 | News

The number of buy-to-let loans advanced in the three months to the end of March was 34,400, 2% more than in final quarter of 2012, data from the Council of Mortgage Lenders (CML) has revealed.

If I let a room, do I have to pay tax?

Thursday, 23 August 2012 | Question and Answer

The government's 'Rent a Room' scheme allows you to receive up to £4,250 a year tax-free for letting a room in your main residence.

Buy-to-let yields hit 6.2%

Friday, 10 August 2012 | News

Buy-to-let investors enjoyed an average yield of 6.2% in June, up from 6% a year ago, driven primarily by an increase in rents.

Can you afford to become a landlord?

Tuesday, 07 August 2012 | Article

The costs include: