Improvements

Government loses solar panel appeal

Wednesday, 25 January 2012 | News

The government has failed in its appeal to overturn the decision that blocked a bid to reduce the feed-in tariff (FiT), a subsidy that is paid to homeowners that sell the electricity from their solar installation.

Government's solar energy cuts ruled illegal

Thursday, 22 December 2011 | News

Government plans to cut the subsidies on homeowners' solar panels are illegal, the High Court has ruled.

The ruling spells victory for Friends of the Earth and two solar firms Solarcentury and HomeSun.

Six things to consider before buying solar panels

Monday, 31 October 2011 | Article

Worried homeowners looking for a way to combat their rising electricity bills could be tempted by solar panels - and the promise of free...

Five steps to avoiding DIY disasters

Monday, 11 July 2011 | Article

British people love a spot of DIY, but sometimes our reluctance to call in the professionals causes more harm than good.

How to dodge dodgy tradesmen

Thursday, 12 May 2011 | Article

A new deposit protection scheme, Bondpay, has been launched in a bid to protect consumers from cowboy builders.

Five ways to cash in on your home

Monday, 14 February 2011 | Article

Let a room

...

Five factors that will boost your home's value

Monday, 31 January 2011 | Article

Noisy neighbours, flood plains and a sinister history - these are just some factors that can devalue your house.

Green homes: Help the planet and your pocket

Monday, 27 September 2010 | TV /Video

Furnishing your home from an auction

Monday, 20 September 2010 | TV /Video

Can we sue our surveyor?

Wednesday, 17 February 2010 | Article

Q: There's a problem with the drainage in our new home; every time it rains our front garden floods as rainwater isn't draining off the roof and away from our house properly. We believe our...