Blog

I had to leave to upgrade with EE!

Thursday, 11 June 2015 | Blog | By Mark King

Before I became a homeowner, my dad warned me that my house would be a bottomless money pit. And boy, was he right.

The real cost of being a homeowner

Tuesday, 19 May 2015 | Blog | By Laura Whitcombe

Did you see the O2 adverts loudly proclaiming it’s been busy automatically halving bills?

Don't believe O2 when it says it's halving bills

Friday, 17 April 2015 | Blog | By Laura Whitcombe
Did you see the O2 adverts loudly proclaiming it’s been busy automatically halving bills?

What the energy switching process is really like

Tuesday, 17 March 2015 | Blog | By Laura Whitcombe

The problem with energy switching is it’s painfully dull and takes far too long. But it starts off easily enough.

How I took control of my debt

Monday, 16 March 2015 | Blog | By
Being in debt is something that has been part of my everyday life for as long as I can remember. Since my late teens, throughout my 20s, and into my early 30s, I've been in the red.

HSBC and the art of the failed apology

Friday, 20 February 2015 | Blog | By Mark King
Saying sorry is simple enough.

Learn from my financial mistakes

Wednesday, 04 February 2015 | Blog | By Karyn Fleeting
Everybody makes financial mistakes: from doomed marriages to house insurance stuff-ups, life can sometimes feel like a high-speed car chase around the edges of various money pits.

My depressing flat search

Monday, 26 January 2015 | Blog | By Rob Goodman

“It’s only £1,000 a month, in a great area, mate. A real bargain.”

Active fund investors can live in hope

Wednesday, 21 January 2015 | Blog | By Mark King
In the past few months a furious row has developed among investment professionals, with financial journalists like yours truly caught squarely in the middle.

Wedding planning on a budget

Monday, 12 January 2015 | Blog | By
When it comes to wedding planning, everyone's budget is different.