Scam of the week - The 'UPS' scam

We've been alerted to the scam whereby criminals attempt to hack into a customer's personal details through sending fraudulent emails.

The messages claim to be from UPS and inform the recipient a parcel is waiting to be picked up. A reference number is included, which needs to be downloaded, and if the parcel is not collected a charge of £6 will be applied each day.

But because this is not from UPS but instead from a con artist, by downloading the attachment containing the reference number, you are actually giving a hacker access to your computer files and personal details, which they can then use to empty your account.

If you think you've been scammed get in touch by leaving a comment below or emailing us on and let us know exactly what has happened.

Personal details

UPS says it will never ask for personal or financial details via email and you should never respond to any email messages that ask for these details or open any links within the message.

Instead, open a new browser window and go to the company's official site where you can check your account.

If you receive a suspect email you can forward it to to be investigated. Once you've done this, mark it as spam in your inbox and delete it.

"Fraudsters use a range of techniques to harvest the identities of their victims. A popular tactic is to contact you pretending to be an organisation you may have an existing relationship with, such as your bank," says James Jones, spokesperson for Experian.

"Vigilance is the key to staying safe. If you receive an unsolicited call or email from an organisation you deal with, don't be duped. Go back to it independently using contact details you already have," he adds.

Your Comments

 the one thing I have wondered about this scam, and the parcelforce one as well was how did they get my e-mail address in the first place ? I didn't give it to them and therefore it has to be a scam- same with the youtube ones- that if clicked on lead straight to a online pharmacy selling viagra- I've never uploaded a video- why should it be number one?- even myspace isn't free of those- but if you know what you've done and who you've shared your e-mail address with you should be able to dump them all straight into the spam, or better still the trash file